1406 N Pines Rd
Spokane Valley WA 99206
*Century Insurance Agency Copyright © 2014 All Rights Reserved.
Thank you for your business, we appreciate the customer referrals you send our way
* We offer many Insurance companies to choose from
* We have competitive prices
* We are easy to do business with
OLYMPIA — Texting or holding a phone to your ear is already against the law in Washington state, but soon Washington drivers will be prohibited from doing all the other stuff some do while driving or sitting in traffic: checking Facebook, reading emails or anything else that requires them to hold their electronic devices while behind the wheel.
The measure, signed by Gov. Jay Inslee on Tuesday in Tacoma, prohibits holding an electronic device — including phones, tablets and other electronic gadgets — while driving, including while in traffic or waiting for a traffic light to change.
Inslee vetoed a section that had the measure take effect in 2019. He said it was too important to wait for the provisions to take effect, so the law will now take effect in mid-July.
Under the measure, “the minimal use of a finger” to activate, deactivate, or initiate a function of a personal electronic device while driving will still be allowed.
What drivers can and cannot do under Washington state's new distracted-driving law
Big pit across from Seattle City Hall finally will be developed
Seattle Mayor Ed Murray sexually abused foster son, child-welfare investigator found in 1984
Man dies in fall from BMW on I-405 in Kirkland, trooper says
Federal judge: ‘The citizens of Seattle are not going to pay blackmail for constitutional policing’
Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks.
Current law in Washington state only prohibits texting or holding a phone to the ear while driving.
The new expanded law will make the public safer, Inslee said.
“All too often from our own cars, we see other drivers reading their cellphones — and cross our fingers,” he said in prepared remarks at the signing.
Once the measure takes effect, the standard traffic fine of $136 would apply to a first offense but would increase to about $235 for a second offense. The first distracted-driving offense would also be reportable to insurance companies, which could raise rates like any other moving violation.
Another section of the new law also says a person who engages in “any activity not related to the actual operation of a motor vehicle” is subject to pay an additional fine of $100. It only applies if an officer catches a driver being distracted while committing a standard traffic offense, such as running a stop sign because their coffee spilled or a pet jumped in their lap.
Exemptions under the law include using an electronic device to contact emergency services, or operating an amateur radio station or two-way or citizens band radio services.
La Corte,Rachel."No More Holding of Phones Under New Law in Washington".US News.com.AP,5/16/2017
Century Insurance Agency
1406 N Pines Rd
Spokane Valley WA 99206
Century Insurance Agency knows
The right auto insurance policy can help get you back on the road quickly if your car is damaged or destroyed by accident, fire, theft, or other covered event. Your policy may also provide protection against medical and legal expenses resulting from injury, loss of life, or property damage caused by an accident involving your vehicle.
An car insurance policy is a contract between you and an insurance company. You pay a premium, and in exchange, the insurance company promises to pay for specific car-related financial losses during the term of the policy. Work with our professional insurance agents at Century Insurance Agency to determine the best coverage for you.
Insurance for cars, trucks, boats and more!
Century Insurance Agency located in Spokane Valley WA offers vehicle insurance for:
*Classic Car Insurance
*Motor Home Insurance
*Jet Ski Insurance
Contact us for more information today!
Call us at 509-924-4424 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org
How much auto insurance is right for you?
Based in Spokane Valley WA, our team understands the auto insurance needs of our customers. Auto insurance requirements vary by state. In some states, to drive you must carry:
• Liability coverage – to pay for losses you cause others, or:
• No-fault coverage – to pay you and your passengers for medical and related expenses caused by injuries from a car accident, regardless of who is at fault, or
• Both liability and no-fault coverage.
We write insurance in Washington, Idaho, Oregon and Arizona and would like to assist you in obtaining the right coverage for where you live.
Even in states where coverage isn’t required, drivers must, by law, be able to pay for losses they cause others. Having vehicle insurance is the simplest way for most people to comply. To finance a car, it is usually necessary to have car insurance policy which covers damage to your auto. This includes:
Collision car insurance coverage pays for damage caused to your vehicle in an automobile accident. Standard collision insurance coverage will pay for any repairs up to the fair market value of your car. Collision coverage usually also comes with an insurance deductible. It’s the amount of money you pay toward repairs before your collision insurance kicks in. The higher the deductible you’re willing to pay, the less the collision coverage will cost.
Comprehensive Insurance (Other than Collision)
Comprehensive car insurance covers damage done to your car in some way other than a collision, such as if it were stolen or vandalized. Flood, hurricane, theft, windshield damage and fire are also events usually covered by comprehensive car insurance. Like collision, comprehensive will pay up to the fair market value of your car (less your insurance deductible). And although it’s not legally required by any state, you will probably need it if your car is financed. Every person is unique – talk to us today to find out how to get the best price and value on auto insurance for you.
Century Insurance Agency Call for a quote today at 509-924-4424